## Organizational Meeting

Organizational Meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Sparta was held January 11, 2022 at 6:30 PM.

Members Present: Supervisor Mark Schuster, Deputy Supervisor Deb Halpenny, Council Dan Maloney, Bill Smith and Mary Ellyn Calabrese.

A motion was made by Deb Halpenny and seconded by Bill Smith to accept the appointments as read:

TITLE	APPOINTMENT	ANNUAL	PAYMENT	STANDARD
		SALARY	SCHEDULE	HOURS/DAY
Accountant & Payroll	EFPR Solutions	\$11,761.00	Monthly	
Assessor 6 yr. term	Holley Smalt 9/30/25	\$11,527.00	Monthly	6
Assessment Review Board 5 yr. term	John L. Davis 9/30/23	Volunteer		
(3 member)	Roy Bailey 9/30/24	Volunteer		
	Barbara Bernard 9/30/26	Volunteer		
Attorney for the Town 2 yr. term	DiMatteo & Roach 12/31/23	Per Contract	Voucher	
Cemetery Caretakers	Levi Miller, Atlee & Jake Wengerd	\$1600.00	Annual	
Councilman (4 member) 4 yr. term	Elected	\$2,363.75/ea.	Monthly	6
Court Clerk	Sheila Duffy	\$3,708.00	Semi-Annual	6
Custodian	Sheila Duffy	\$765.00	Semi-annual	
Deputy Highway Superintendent	David Holbrook	\$1,500.00	Bi-weekly	
Deputy Registrar of Vital Statistics	Mark J Schuster	Volunteer		
Deputy Supervisor	Debra Halpenny	\$500.00	Semi-annual	
Deputy Town Clerk	John Duffy	Volunteer		
Engineer for the Town	CPL	Per Contract	Voucher	
Fair Housing Officer	Mark J. Schuster	Volunteer		
Highway Department Employees	David Holbrook	\$23.50/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
	Jeffery White	\$21.00/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
	Joseph Jerome	\$21.00/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
Highway Department Part Time	Steven Patterson	\$14.00/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
Part Time		\$14.00/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
Highway Superintendent 4yr Elected	Kevin Robinson 12/31/25	\$63,688.00	Bi-weekly	8
Historian	Mary Jo Marks	\$595.00	Annual	
Information Technology	Hurricane Technologies, Inc		Voucher	
Junk Law Officer	Charles Cagle	\$2,889.00	Monthly	
Justice 4yr Elected	Rodney Doe 12/31/24	\$3,090.00	Quarterly	6
Livingston Co. Planning Board 3yr	Mary Ellen Merle Calabrese 12/31/22	Volunteer		
Mileage	Town Officials for Town Business	\$0.585/mi	Voucher	
Office Rent	Historian	\$800.00	Annual	
	Planning Board Chairman	\$800.00	Annual	
	Supervisor	\$800.00	Annual	
Planning Board 5-year term	Michael Weber – Chairman 12/31/22	\$595.00	Annual	
(5 members)	Linda Carney 12/31/23	Volunteer		
	Barbara Bernard 12/31/24	Volunteer		
	Matthew Bourgoine 12/31/25	Volunteer		
	Beckie Johnson 12/31/26	Volunteer		
Planning Board/ZBA Clerk	Vacant	\$12.50/hr.	Voucher	
Registrar of Vital Statistics 4 yr.	Sheila Duffy 12/31/25	\$400.00	Annual	
Supervisor 4 yr. Elected	Mark Schuster 12/31/25	\$8,405.00	Monthly	6
Tax Collector 4 yr. Elected	Sheila Duffy 12/31/25	\$2,800.00	Bi-weekly	6
Town Clerk 4 yr. Elected	Sheila Duffy 12/31/25	\$15,000.00	Bi-weekly	6
Traffic Safety - Co. 3yr	Chris Scollon 12/31/24	Volunteer		
Traffic Safety Alt. – Co. 3yr	William Smith 12/31/24	Volunteer		
Youth Bureau Representative	Alise Rounsville	Volunteer		
Zoning Board of Appeals 5 yr.	Leo Marks 12/31/26	Volunteer		
(5 member)	Edward Johnston 12/31/22	Volunteer		
(c memoer)	Aaron Schreiner 12/31/23	Volunteer		
	Samantha Gibson-Chairman 12/31/24	Volunteer		
	Johnathan Merle 12/31/25	Volunteer		
CEO & Addressing Official	Charles Cagle	\$10,243.00	Monthly	
CLO & riddressing Official	Charles Cagic	Ψ10,273.00	1/1011111111111111111111111111111111111	<u> </u>

All voted yes, carried.

**Continuing Committees:** 

Buildings and Grounds -Finance Committee -Highway Committee -Special Projects -

(Supervisor to be on all committees)

William Smith, Debra Halpenny, Mary Ellyn Calabrese Dan Maloney, Mary Ellyn Calabrese, Debra Halpenny Mary Ellyn Calabrese, Dan Maloney, William Smith

Debra Halpenny, William Smith, Dan Maloney

A motion was made by Deb Halpenny and seconded by Dan Maloney to accept the Appointments as read. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Bill Smith and seconded by Mary Ellyn Calabrese to use Five Star Bank, Dansville Branch Depository for: Joint General/Highway Checking and Savings Accounts, Town Clerk, Tax Collector, Trust & Agency, Justice and Special Accounts. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Mary Ellyn Calabrese and seconded by Dan Maloney to designate the Livingston County News as the Town's Official Newspaper. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Bill Smith and seconded by Dan Maloney to designate the second Tuesday each month at 7:00 PM at the Sparta Town Hall as the official meeting time and place. All voted yes. Carried.

Town Court will be held every second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 PM at the Scottsburg Community Center.

Town Clerk Office Hours: By appointment only (due to COVID). Closed on Sundays and Holidays.

A motion was made by Bill Smith and seconded by Mary Ellyn Calabrese to authorize the Town Fiscal Officer to pay any bill without a voucher that has a discount prior to the Town Board Audit (example-utility bills). These bills will then be audited at the next regular town board meeting. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Dan Maloney and seconded by Bill Smith to make the normal workday for the Highway Department 8 hours, 5 days per week. The workday may be 10 hours, 4 days per week from April 15<sup>th</sup> to October 31st or dates to be designated at the discretion of the Highway Superintendent. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Mary Ellyn Calabrese and seconded by Deb Halpenny to adjourn the meeting. All voted yes. Carried.

Next regular meeting will be held January 11, 2022 at 7:00 PM.

TOWN CLERK

Sheila Duffy